Stella Prize Winner 2024

The Stella Prize celebrates Australian women and non-binary writers, and their 2024 winner is Praiseworthy by Alexis Wright. This is the second time that Wright takes home the Stella Prize, following her win in 2018 for Tracker.

Fierce and gloriously funny, Praiseworthy is a genre-defiant epic of climate catastrophe proportions. Part manifesto, part indictment, Alexis Wright’s real-life frustration at the indignities of the Anthropocene stalk the pages of this, her fourth novel.

That frustration is embodied by a methane-like haze over the once-tidy town of Praiseworthy. The haze catalyses the quest of protagonist Cause Man Steel. His search for a platinum donkey, muse for a donkey-transport business, is part of a farcical get-rich-quick scheme to capitalise on the new era of heat. Cause seeks deliverance for himself and his people to the blue-sky country of economic freedom.

You can also browse the shortlisted titles below: