My Summer Reads

All Our YesterdaysAll Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Marina was living the perfect life – rich, safe and on the brink of a relationship with the wealthy boy next door. That life fell apart in an instant.

Em is trapped in a cell, with nothing but the voice of the boy next door and terrible visits from the doctor. She has lived many lives, and a past version of herself has left her one instruction for how to escape from her cell forever. She’s already failed many times, and this is her last chance.

But playing with time is dangerous, especially when you’re on a mission to kill, or else be killed.

All Our Yesterdays is a fast-paced thriller from new author Cristin Terrill. I absolutely loved this novel. The suspense is terrific and the characters are real, imperfect and conflicted. Two different points of view very cleverly show two different worlds that are intricately linked and their collision is mind-blowing.

A must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Doctor Who – I would recommend this book to both boys and girls of age thirteen and up.

 

Every Breath

Every Breath by Ellie Marney

Rachel Watts is new to Melbourne, having arrived from the country. She misses everything about her old life. In her short time in the city, she has befriended James Mycroft, an erratic seventeen year old genius with a troubled past.

When they find one of Mycroft’s friends dead and the police aren’t giving an explanation of what happened, the two neighbours decide to take the investigation into their own hands. But this isn’t a school science class – they are hunting a very real, cold-blooded killer, someone who would not hesitate to take the life of anyone who found them out.

Every Breath is a complex and rich teen crime novel with an engrossing plot and interesting characters. With subtle links to the original Sherlock Holmes, and a splash of romance thrown in, I recommend this book to readers aged 13 to 18 and to fans of Sherlock.

About Niav

Niav wrote for the Mostly Books blog from 2013 to 2015. She grew up loving books, and will read just about anything. Niav has been writing short stories (and occasionally poetry) for years, as well as playing soccer, rock climbing, and volunteering on camps for kids with disabilities in her spare time.

One thought on “My Summer Reads

Leave a Reply